Welcome to the West Side Minyan!
B'ruchim haba-im!

We're a friendly multi-generational egalitarian Minyan on the Upper West Side. We offer free High Holiday services open to all and meet year round on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month on the Sixth floor of Ansche Chesed, 251 West 100th Street, New York NY.

You can read more about the West Side Minyan or get in touch with us.

Members of the West Side Minyan aloing with our friends from Minyan Rimonim.

Members of the West Side Minyan with our friends from Minyan Rimonim. (Photo by Michael Brochstein.)


Minyan calendar 2018-2019 / 5779

Unless specified otherwise, services begin at 10 a.m. on the sixth floor at Congregation Ansche Chesed, 251 West 100th Street. For details, see the weekly schedule. Periodically, we have a special "Learning Shabbat" with a shorter service and extended d'var torah/study.

Click for complete High Holiday information.

Since some of our members also attend Minyan Rimonim, we list both minyanim here:

Date and Time Minyan Activity Rimonim Vaad Member on Duty Rimonim daveners
Sat Oct 27 WSM

Shabbat Vayera

   
Sat Nov 3 Rimonim

Shabbat Chayei Sarah, Shabbat M'var'chim haChodesh

Announce: Rosh Chodesh Kislev yihyeh b'yom chamishi uvyom shishi

Ilana

Shacharit: Ilana
Musaf: Greg

Sat Nov 10 WSM Shabbat Tol'dot    
Sat Nov 17 Rimonim Shabbat Vayetze Larry Shacharit: Larry
Musaf: Nos
Sat Nov 24 --

Shabbat Vayishlach

No WSM service. We'll daven at the Sanctuary Service.

   
Sat Dec 1 Rimonim

Shabbat Vayeshev, Shabbat M'var'chim haChodesh

Announce:
Rosh Chodesh Tevet yihyeh b'yom Shabbat Kodesh ulmochorato b'yom rishon (Friday night, Saturday and Sunday)

Iris Shacharit: Greg
Musaf: ilana
Sun Dec 2 -- *Correction*
Evening: Light first Chanukah candle
   
Sat Dec 8 WSM & Rimonim PHIL GOLD MEMORIAL KIDDUSH, FOLLOWING SERVICES

Shabbat Miketz, Rosh Chodesh Tevet, Hannukah

Shacharit:
- Yaaleh v'yavo for Rosh Chodesh p 118;
- Al haNisim for Chanukah p 119;
- Full Hallel

Torah service:
Traditionally 3 scrolls -- we're using two
- 1st scroll, Miketz (B'reishit), 6 aliyot
- Chatzi Kaddish
- lift and dress
- 2nd scroll, Rosh Chodesh (Pin'chas, B'midbar), 1 aliyah
- roll
- 2nd scroll, Chanukah (Naso, B'midbar), Maftir aliyah
- lift and dress

Musaf:
- Rosh Chodesh Amidah for Shabbat p 166;
- Ulhapparat pasha p 169;
- Al Hanisim for Chanukah p 176;

- Psalm 104 for Rosh Chodesh p 78;
- Psalm for Chanukah p 81;
- Mourner's Kaddish p 82;

PHIL GOLD MEMORIAL KIDDUSH

   
Sun Dec 9 -- In evening, light last Chanukah candle    
Sat Dec 15 Rimonim Shabbat Vayigash Ilana Shacharit: Nos
Musaf: Ilana
Sat Dec 22 WSM

Shabbat Vay'chi

(Chazak! Chazak!)

   
Mon Dec 24 Rimonim Jews' Night Out Larry  
Sat Dec 29 AC

Shabbat Shemot

Joint davening and Kiddush

   
Sat Jan 5 Rimonim

Shabbat Va-era, Shabbat M'var'chim haChodesh

Announce: Rosh Chodesh Sh'vat yihyeh b'yom sheini (Sunday night and Monday)

Iris

Shacharit: Ilana
Musaf: Greg

Sun Jan 6 WSM Annual Meeting (tentative)    
Sat Jan 12 WSM Shabbat Bo    
Sat Jan 19 Rimonim Shabbat B'shallach, Shabbat Shirah Ilana  
Sat Jan 26 WSM Shabbat Yitro    



VOLUNTEER! Would you like to lead davening, lein, bring kiddush? Contact one of the Minyan coordinators.
For DETAILS, check the weekly schedule.
To see what you're signed up for, see the rotations page.











gallery