Welcome to the West Side Minyan!
B'ruchim haba-im!

We're a friendly multi-generational egalitarian Minyan on the Upper West Side. We offer free High Holiday services open to all and meet year round on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month on the Sixth floor of Ansche Chesed, 251 West 100th Street, New York NY.

You can read more about the West Side Minyan or get in touch with us.

Members of the West Side Minyan aloing with our friends from Minyan Rimonim.

Members of the West Side Minyan with our friends from Minyan Rimonim. (Photo by Michael Brochstein.)


Minyan calendar 2019 / 5779-5780

Unless specified otherwise, services begin at 10 a.m. on the sixth floor at Congregation Ansche Chesed, 251 West 100th Street. For details, see the weekly schedule. Periodically, we have a special "Learning Shabbat" with a shorter service and extended d'var torah/study.

Click for complete High Holiday information.

Since some of our members also attend Minyan Rimonim, we list both minyanim here:

Date and Time Minyan Activity Rimonim Vaad Member on Duty Rimonim daveners
Sat Sep 14 WSM

Shabbat Ki Teitzei
(Sixth floor)

   
Sat Sep 21 Rimonim

Shabbat Ki Tavo
(Sixth floor)

Ansche Chesed S'lichot in the evening

Iris Shacharit: Ilana
Musaf: Nos
Sat Sep 28 WSM

Shabbat Nitzavim

Pot Luck Lunch -- please bring food to share!

   
Sun Sep 29 WSM

ROSH HASHANAH begins in the evening

High Holiday services are held on the SIXTH floor.

High Holiday details to follow

   
Mon Sep 30 WSM

First Day of Rosh Hashanah

Second day begins in the evening

   
Tue Oct 1 WSM Second Day of Rosh Hashanah    
Sat Oct 5 Rimonim

Shabbat Vayeilech
Shabbat Shuvah

Modifications for Ten Days of Repentance in both Shacharit and Musaf

Ilana Shacharit: Larry
Musaf: Greg
Tue Oct 8 WSM Kol Nidre in the evening    
Wed Oct 9 WSM Yom Kippur    
Sat Oct 12 WSM Shabbat Haazinu    
Sun Oct 13 -- Sukkot begins in the evening    
Mon Oct 14 --

Sukkot Day 1

Day 2 begins in the evening

   
Tue Oct 15 -- Sukkot Day 2    
Thu Oct 17 Rimonim Membership Meeting (tentative)    
Sat Oct 19 Rimonim

Shabbat Chol haMo-eid Sukkot

- Shabbat T'fillah with Yaaleh v'yavo
- Full Hallel (malei)
- Read Kohelet
- 2 Torah scrolls
- Haftarah concluding blessing for Yom Tov, with insertions for Shabbat and Sukkot

- Musaf: Yom Tov T'fillah
- Shabbat K'dushah
- insertions for Shabbat, Sukkot, and Chol haMo-eid Sukkot

- Hoshanot

Hoshanah Rabbah begins in the evening

Larry Shacharit: Nos
Musaf: Ilana
Sun Oct 20 --

Hoshanah Rabbah day

Sh'mini Atseret begins in the evening

   
Mon Oct 21 --

Sh'mini Atseret day

Simchat Torah begins in the evening

   
Tue Oct 22 -- Simchat Torah day    
Sat Oct 26 WSM

Shabbat B'reishit
Shabbat M'var'chim haChodesh

We're now in Year 1 of the triennial cycle.

Announce: Rosh Chodesh Marcheshvan yihyeh b'yom sh'lishi uvyom r'vi-i (Monday night, Tuesday and Wednesday)

   
Fri Nov 1 Rimonim New Vaad assumes its duties    
Sat Nov 2 Rimonim Shabbat Noach Iris Shacharit: Greg
Musaf: Larry
Sat Nov 9 WSM Shabbat Lech L'cha    
Sat Nov 16 Rimonim Shabbat Vayeira Ilana Shacharit: Ilana
Musaf: Nos
Sat Nov 23 WSM

Shabbat Chayei Sarah
Shabbat M'var'chim haChodesh

Announce: Rosh Chodesh Kislev yihyeh b'yom chamishi uvyom shishi (Wednesday night, Thursday and Friday)

   
Sat Nov 30 AC Neither WSM nor Minyan Rimonim meet. on the 5th Shabbat of the month. You're invited to daven with the Sanctuary.    
Sat Dec 7 Rimonim Shabbat Vayeitsei TBA Shacharit: Larry
Musaf: Greg
Sat Dec 14 WSM Shabbat Vayishlach    
Sat Dec 21 Rimonim

Shabbat Vayeishev
Shabbat M'var'chim haChodesh

Announce: Rosh Chodesh Tevet yihyeh b'yom Shabbat kodesh ulmochorato b'yom rishon (Friday night, Saturday and Sunday)

Iris Shacharit: Nos
Musaf: Ilana
Sun Dec 22 -- Light first Chanukah candle in the evening    
Tue Dec 24 Rimonim

Light third Chanukah candle in the evening

JEWS' NIGHT OUT -- All WSMers are invited! Details to follow.

Ilana  
Sat Dec 28 WSM

(Possible AC Joint Service)

Shabbat Mikeits
Rosh Chodesh Tevet
Day 6 of Chanukah (light 6th candle the night before)

(Various special stuff -- details to follow)

   



VOLUNTEER! Would you like to lead davening, lein, bring kiddush? Contact one of the Minyan coordinators.
For DETAILS, check the weekly schedule.
To see what you're signed up for, see the rotations page.











gallery