Welcome to the West Side Minyan!
B'ruchim haba-im!

We're a friendly multi-generational egalitarian Minyan on the Upper West Side. We offer free High Holiday services open to all and meet year round on the second and fourth Saturdays of each month on the Sixth floor of Ansche Chesed, 251 West 100th Street, New York NY.

You can read more about the West Side Minyan or get in touch with us.

Members of the West Side Minyan aloing with our friends from Minyan Rimonim.

Members of the West Side Minyan with our friends from Minyan Rimonim. (Photo by Michael Brochstein.)


Minyan calendar 2018-2019 / 5778-5779

Unless specified otherwise, services begin at 10 a.m. on the sixth floor at Congregation Ansche Chesed, 251 West 100th Street. For details, see the weekly schedule. Periodically, we have a special "Learning Shabbat" with a shorter service and extended d'var torah/study.

Since some of our members also attend Minyan Rimonim, we list both minyanim here:

Date and Time Minyan Activity Rimonim Vaad Member on Duty Rimonim daveners
Sat Jul 21 Rimonim

Shabbat D'varim, Shabbat Chazon

Picnic on the roof -- please bring food to share! (If the weather doesn't cooperate, we'll picnic on the 2nd floor.)

Tisha B'Av begins in the evening

Shalom Shacharit: Larry
Musaf: Ilana
Sat Jul 28 WSM

Shabbat V'et-chanan, Shabbat Nachamu

Pot Luck Lunch - please bring food to share!

   
Sat Aug 4 Rimonim

Shabbat Ekev,
Shabbat M'var'chim haChodesh

Announce : Rosh Chodesh Elul yih'yeh b'yom Shabbat kodesh ulmochorato b'yom rishon

Larry Shacharit: Greg
Musaf: Debby
Sat Aug 11 WSM

Shabbat R'ei,
Rosh Chodesh Elul (Day 1)

Shacharit T'filah: add yaaleh v'yavo for Rosh Chodesh (p 118)
- Hallel chaseir
- 2 scrolls
- Rosh Chodesh T'filah for Shabbat (p 166)
- Shabbat K'dusha (p 167)
- Shabbat passages (p 168)
- Psalm for Shabbat (p 72)
- Psalm for Rosh Chodesh (p 78)

   
Sat Aug 18 Rimonim

Shabbat Shof'tim

(Tentative picnic)

Iris Shacharit: Ilana
Musaf: Larry
Sat Aug 25 WSM

Shabbat Ki teitsei

Pot Luck Lunch - please bring food to share!

   
Sat Sep 1 AC

Morning: Joint davening and Kiddush

Evening: S'lichot services

   
Sat Sep 8 WSM

Shabbat Nitsavim

   
Sun Sep 9 WSM Evening: Rosh HaShanah services on the 6th floor    
Mon Sep 10 WSM

Morning: Rosh HaShanah services on the 6th floor

Tashlich: Ansche Chesed tashlich in the afternoon

   
Tue Sep 11 WSM Morning: Rosh HaShanah services on the 6th floor    
Sat Sep 15 Rimonim

Shabbat Vayelech, Shabbat Shuvah

Note: Modifications in both Shacharit and Musaf for the 10 Days of Repentance

Shalom Shacharit: Larry
Musaf: Nos
Tue Sep 18 WSM Evening: Yom Kippur Kol Nidrei services on the 6th floor    
Wed Sep 19 WSM All day: Yom Kippur services (with an intermission in the early afternoon)    
Sat Sep 22 WSM

Shabbat Haazinu

Pot Luck Lunch -- please bring food to share!

   
Sun Sep 23 -- Sukkot begins in the evening    
Mon Sep 24 --

Sukkot Day 1

Sukkot Day 2 begins in the evening

   
Tue Sep 25 -- Sukkot Day 2 concludes at sundown    
Sat Sep 29 --

5th Shabbat of the month -- neither WSM nor Rimonim have services. You're invited to daven with the Sanctuary.

Hoshana Rabbah begins in the evening

   
Sun Sep 30 --

Hoshana Rabbah

Sh'mini Atzeret begins in the evening

Evening: Rimonim Erev Sh'mini Atzeret Dinner

   
Mon Oct 1 ---

Sh'mini Atzeret

Simchat Torah begins in the evening

   
Tue Oct 2 -- Simchat Torah    
Sat Oct 6 Rimonim

Shabbat B'reishit, Shabbat M'var'chim haChodesh

(Announce: Rosh Chodesh Marcheshvan yihyeh b'yom sh'lishi uvyom r'vi-i)

Larry Shacharit: Greg
Musaf: Debby
Sat Oct 13 WSM

Shabbat Noach

Bar Mitzvah of Ignacio Hale Brown in the Chapel

Kiddush on 2nd floor

   
-- -- --    
Sat Nov 24 AC Tentative joint davening and Kiddush    



VOLUNTEER! Would you like to lead davening, lein, bring kiddush? Contact one of the Minyan coordinators.
For DETAILS, check the weekly schedule.
To see what you're signed up for, see the rotations page.











gallery